Ashes to Ocean, Ocean to Air

My Dad’s last wish. It was written there in black and white.

To be scattered from altitude, over the ocean.

Two of my Dad’s favourite things were the open sky and the open ocean; it was fitting that he should choose this as his final resting place.

Thanks to the wonderful organizational skills of my aunty and the help of our entire family, we pulled it off.

The date was set and we all had our fingers crossed for good weather so we wouldn’t have to change it. As the day approached the forecast looked good, but that wasn’t saying much for NZ! Luckily, when we woke up that morning there was barely a breath of a sea breeze and not a cloud in the sky – Dad must have had a word with someone up there!

It was set to be a spectacular jump. We had two aeroplanes and a helicopter (thanks Hoppers!) for my grandparents, my two brothers, my sister, my aunty, the tandem masters and me to jump out of. We had 12 jumpers all together. The plan was to fly in a formation over the beach that Dad loved and lived, then all jump out together. My brother – who had given me a surprise earlier that day – my aunty and I were to jump together and release part of Dad’s ashes in free fall. Everyone also had a small individual bag that we could release ourselves once the parachutes were open. Another aunty also had a small bag which she paddled out to sea on a kayak and released at the same time.

It was a very emotional ride up. I know we all shed a few tears, but by the time we were ready to jump our eyes were dry. As soon as we were given the OK we climbed out of the plane and jumped, holding onto each other. I pulled the bag open which was strapped to my aunty’s wrist and watched the most spectacular thing I have ever seen.

I felt as though we were in slow motion, and I could see every individual piece of ash as it flowed out of the bag. It was a moment that lasted a life time. At that moment I felt love and relief.

When Dad had gone, we opened our parachutes and had our individual moments with him. I reached down my jumpsuit and pulled out the last physical piece of him I had left. I said goodbye and set him free. As I looked down at the beach I realised that the rest of my family had written a huge message in the sand “WE LOVE YOU GARY”.

I am so proud of my entire family for what a beautiful day this was. I’m so happy that we could give Dad such a beautiful last jump.

My amazingly brave grandparents coming in to land

The Jumping Crew

The whole Cullen Clan!

Thank you so much to everyone who helped to make this day so special!

Ruakaka Beach, Northland, New Zealand.