Homemade Chicken Ravoli – With Coriander and Friends

Last time I was in NZ one of the culinary goddesses in my life (I was lucky enough to be blessed with several of these to teach and inspire me along the way!) taught me how to make pasta from scratch. I was surprised at how easy it was – seriously. I had wondered out loud whether it would be possible to make it without the pasta machine, and told that there shouldn’t be any reason why not. Suffice to say, since I’ve been back I have been looking for a reason to try it out.

I came across a recipe in my Marie Claire – Dinner book for Chicken Ravioli with Coriander, using wonton wrappers to form the ravioli. I decided to go one better; here was my perfect opportunity to try out my new pasta making skills!

I set to work, and very quickly realised how necessary a pasta roller is! Na, just kidding. It takes a little bit longer, and a fair bit more muscle, but rolling pasta is perfectly do-able by hand. Here’s how:

First, drop a cup of flour onto a clean, flat surface. Make a well in the centre and crack an egg into it. Using your clean hands, start mixing it together. Work it into a dough, and add water drop by drop as needed. Basically you want the dough to just hold itself together without getting sticky. The amount of water added will depend on the size of the egg, so I can’t give you an exact measure sorry. When you have got it to a workable dough stage you must knead it for a few minutes. It’s a lot harder to knead than bread dough so give it some muscle! When it’s ready, wrap it in plastic wrap and let it sit for about an hour.

Next, if you have a pasta roller, you put it into use. If not, take out the trusty rolling pin. The pasta needs to be rolled a lot. Roll it out into one direction, then fold it into thirds – like this:

and roll it in the other direction. This means it will be stretched every which way. I chose to divide my pasta in half after this so that rolling it out would be a little easier. It might pay to have someone keep you company while you do this, otherwise you might start seeing things in your pasta like I did…

In any case, keep rolling until your pasta is about 2mm thick. Then you can cut it into whichever shapes take your fancy! I went with ravioli:

Now you’re ready to turn this into a delicious dish…

Filling Ingredients:

  • 200g Chicken Mince
  • 1 Tbsp Lime Zest
  • 1 Tbsp Sesame Oil
  • 1 Tsp Sweet Chili Sauce
  • 2 Tbsp Chopped fresh Coriander

Sauce Ingredients:

  • 1/4 Cup Fish Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Lime Juice
  • 1 Tbsp Soft Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp Peanut Oil

Combine all of the filling ingredients, and place teaspoonfuls on raviolis. Spread a little water around the edges and press another sheet on top, pinching closed the edges.

 Place in rapidly boiling water for 10mins.

Meanwhile, combine all of your sauce ingredients, stirring until the sugar has dissolved. I love this Thai/Vietnamese flavour combination. There is something very special about Coriander, and each other ingredient brings something extra special and unique. They work together wonderfully.

I served this on a bed of purple cabbage, with a side salad of chopped tomato, avocado and coriander. Drizzle the sauce over the whole thing, then top with sliced red chili and coriander garnish. Yum!

One Comment on “Homemade Chicken Ravoli – With Coriander and Friends”

  1. [...] learnt how to make pasta earlier this year, and had my first go at it alone here. It was before we had a pasta machine, so I did it all by hand – it was really hard. Luckily [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers